Review: Suffragette

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to share my thoughts on the film “Suffragette”. I went to the première in Brussels 2 weeks ago and I really loved it. Although at many points I felt very frustrated, sad and even angry, it is such a beautiful film. I think the acting was great Suffragette_posterand the story highly relevant.

The film tells the story of 24-year-old Maud Watts and how she became one of the foot soldiers of the early feminist movement in England. The film stars Carey Mulligan, Helena Bonham Carter, Anne-Marie Duff, and Natalie Press.

I don’t want to give too many spoilers, but I do want to say a few things about it 🙂


  1. Although Meryl Streep played Emmeline Pankhurst, the leader of the early British suffragette movement, in the film she definitely wasn’t the most important character. It’s not that I don’t like Meryl Streep, but I simply don’t think that she should have been on the poster.

  2. Maud (played by Carey Mulligan) get thrown out of the house by her husband and he later gives up their son for adoption. I tell you, this really broke my heart. At one point, right before little Georgie is taken away by his adoption parents, Maud tells him that he should never forget her name.
    I was really curious about their story and whether or not Georgie would remember his mother, but the film doesn’t say anything about it in the end. On the one hand me and my friend were a bit sad because we wanted to see mother and child reunited. But on the other hand, it was a clever thing to do because we were clearly not the only ones who kept thinking about it…


  3. Me and my friend really loved the fact that the story was told by this poor laundress. Maud didn’t exist in real life, but her story was so realistic. The makers of Suffragette could have taken Emmeline Pankhurts (the famous leader of the movement) or Emily Davison (the lady who stepped in front of King George’s horse) as the protagonist but they chose not to do so. We really liked this.

  4. We liked the fragments at the end of the movie. They were supposed to be extracts of Emily Davison’s funeral procession. It made us realise how hard these ladies fought for the rights we now have. I felt grateful, but also happy that I was born in this era.

  5. The fact that there was no “neat” ending made me feel a bit confused and frustrated, but I guess that was exactly how I was supposed to feel. What these ladies went through isn’t just something that happened some 100 years ago. It is an ongoing struggle. We should all understand that and stand up for women’s rights in every part of the world.

So in the end I just want to say one more thing: whether you are interested in politics or not, whether you are a feminist or not, it doesn’t matter… I really suggest you to watch this film.

6 thoughts on “Review: Suffragette

  1. Andrea Nelson says:

    I’ve been hearing really good things about this movie. I kind of like that I have heard that they don’t try to put a neat, happy spin at the end because I think that probably makes it more realistic since the suffrage movement is real and it didn’t end because people are still working on it. Any ways, glad to hear you liked it 🙂

    Like

  2. inc says:

    Great review! I too am not a fan of confusing (open-ended?) endings. Dunno why directors think that’s a good way to end a film. Makes one wanna get their movie ticket back, me thinks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

